“ Did any of you complete the ACA? What was the work and study schedule like? ”

Maureen N. asked a question
during the live chat Risk Advisory Live Chat
to Deloitte UK Recruitment Team

17/06/2015
7 Live chat
17/06/2015
Consultant, Deloitte UK

I am currently doing the ACA and I just did exams 7,8 and 9 last week. We went to college for the first 2 exams as part of our initial training when we started and sat the exams after. Then the next 4 you do in the period November-March. But overall you get tuition in college or self study days for all of them. You will have an exam manager that will support you continuously as well so any queries you have will be addressed promptly.

It does take a lot of effort but as we were told in college, this is a qualification that turns you into a well rounded business adviser.

17/06/2015
Technology Risk And Controls, Deloitte UK

Hi Maureen, I am currently studying for the ACA. It is a big commitment. I would re-iterate what Radi has said. We receive time off work to study in college but it does require a lot of effort to get through the exams. It is manageable though and there is an exam manager to help you through it. You also study with your colleagues at Deloitte, which makes it very fun as it feels like being in school again!

17/06/2015
Maureen N.

Thank you Radi and Zohair. Do you think this hinders which projects you get to work on? Are you more likely to work on shorter projects compared to those who do not take on the ACA?

17/06/2015
Consultant, Deloitte UK

No I would not say that's the case. I have done both long and short projects, based on the project availability of course. I would say there might be the odd project that takes place when you are in college but that doesn't mean you will not have the opportunity to be on something similar in the following months or the year after.

17/06/2015
Technology Risk And Controls, Deloitte UK