“ What is the background required to work in tax consulting? (Not entry level position) ”

Adriana C. asked a question
during the live chat Explore Summer schemes in Tax Consulting!
to Deloitte UK Recruitment Team

23/04/2019
6 Live chat
Could someone from sales and marketing opt do a career change?
23/04/2019
Tax Analyst, Deloitte LLP

Hi Adriana, there is no required background from what I'm aware of - I am in the minority within my team as I did an accounting degree and the majority of team did not (one of them even came from a medieval histories background at university). I'd say one of the biggest factors considered from applicant's background is the soft-skills they have, e.g. being personable/creative/proactive, which would help in the role.

23/04/2019
Analyst, Deloitte UK

Hi Adriana! Deloitte really celebrates diversity of backgrounds. Joining as a grad, I saw people come from degrees in all sorts of different subjects. With regards to joining not in an entry level, all the work we do is tax technical, therefore an in-depth knowledge of tax is required for more senior positions from what I understand. However, there are certainly transferrable skills from other career paths, for example we see a lot of lawyers joining the GES practice.

23/04/2019
Adriana C.

Thank you very much! And what is now the more demanding field? Business taxes or global employer services? (I know the latter is getting more complex every day)

23/04/2019
Tax Analyst, Deloitte

Hi Adriana. It's hard to say, both areas have their own complexities. From working in GES I can say it is constantly evolving. We have internal training sessions which really helps us keep up-to-date with all the new information and changes.

23/04/2019
Tax Analyst, Deloitte LLP

If you look at the growth between the sectors, then Indirect tax is the faster growing sector (promise I'm not shilling out here as its my department). And this is due to the rapidly developing regulatory environment.

23/04/2019