“ What's the difference between technology consulting at Deloitte and firms like McKinsey and BCG? ”

Dan J. asked a question
during the live chat Deloitte Women in Technology
to Deloitte UK Recruitment Team

28/10/2015
36 Live chat
28/10/2015
National Attraction Manager Student Recruitment, Deloitte UK

Hi Dan

28/10/2015
Dan J.

Hi Lucy

28/10/2015

Ruqaiyyah will reply to you shortly as she does the job better to advise!

28/10/2015
Dan J.

Many thanks! By the way Lucy, I have some tech consulting experience at another big four, will that be helpful?

28/10/2015
Consulting Analyst, Deloitte UK

Hi Dan

28/10/2015
Dan J.

Hi Ruqaiyyah!

28/10/2015

Sorry for the delay, I will try to answer your question to the best of my ability,

From the perspective of careers at Deloitte, in the technology sector we have a vast majority of department that range from Digital, Cyber, Technology Strategy & Architecture to Operations and Delivery.

Joining the Technology sector in our firm will enable you with the opportunity to get involved on projects in any of these areas. We also develop solutions and can deliver them to our clients.

The main differentiation would be the capability that Deloitte has to deliver a technology based solution to one of our clients.

28/10/2015
Manager, Deloitte UK

Yes, you're right Ruqaiyyah it's really the breadth we're able to bring as we can go right from strategy through to design and delivery where McKinsey is more likely to just focus on the strategy side

28/10/2015
Dan J.

Thanks for your reply! So as an analyst, will graduates have opportunities to rotate from projects to projects?

28/10/2015

From my own personal experience, I have been able to move out of a technical role onto an advisory and more strategy based piece of work.

I know of grads that have moved out of technical roles into delivery roles and the other way around

28/10/2015
Dan J.